How do I Get ITIL Certified?

Juliet D'cruz

Updated on:

Before moving towards the how-tos of ITIL, let’s see why you should register yourself for ITIL training and get the certification. 

An ITIL Certification provides you with:

  • Global recognition and opportunities to work across any corner of the world
  • Good hike in salary
  • enhanced skillset
  • Better ROIs (Return Over Investment)
  • Career growth and promotions
  • Improvement in customer relationships 
  • The flexibility of fitting into many job roles
  • Ability to communicate with ITSM (Information Technology Service Management) professionals
  • It makes you future-ready
  • ITIL incorporates the best practices of the IT industry

Today big names and industry leaders have adopted ITIL to achieve the benefits that it offers, thereby improving their productivity, efficiency, and ROIs. in addition, even small startups and businesses are looking towards incorporating ITIL into their service desks, because it provides a comprehensive approach to the functioning of their business. 

Since companies of every size are adopting or approaching ITIL adoption, there is an increasing number of professionals enrolling themselves in ITIL training courses to get an itil certification.

This article will let you know in brief about ITIL and the way you can get certified.

Click here – 5 Easy Tips from Experienced Lawyers on how to Sue for Negligence

What is ITIL?

Today, the IT industry is advancing at a really fast pace and has become one of the most revenue-generating industries in the world. The ITIL or Information Technology Infrastructure Library offers best practices that are intended to deliver IT services using an organized and systematic approach to ITSM (Information Technology Service Management). 

The ITIL framework offers a set of practices, tasks, and guidance to assist or guide your organization in delivering top-quality services to your clients. This framework helps your organization in:

  • Consistently improving services
  • Avoiding common silos
  • Demonstrating compliance

The best part of this framework is that it is not limited to a particular industry, size of the company, or the type of organization (private, public, government, etc). So, ITIL is adopted worldwide across every industry, in all the organizations. Some of the big names implementing ITIL are IBM, NASA, and HSBC. 

The ITIL framework is maintained by Axelos. It also supports and accredits training, examination, and certification institutes. There are many ITIL ATOs (Accredited Training Organizations) where the certification exam can be taken after the completion of the training course. 

ITIL certification has become a must-have certification for IT professionals and has been on the list of most high-paying certifications. ITIL is an IT management framework that helps businesses in managing risks, establishing cost-effective practices, improving customer relationships, and developing a stable IT environment that facilitates growth, change, and scale. 

You can pursue ITIL certification to maximize the value that ITIL can deliver to your organization. 

What is an ITIL Certification?

ITIL certification reveals that you possess the right knowledge in service management best practices, utilizing terminology, processes, and methodologies that are common in the modern IT world.

The ITIL certified professionals are believed to possess the skills and knowledge to grow and transform the business. 

Benefits of ITIL Certification

For individuals

With ITIL certification, you can earn several benefits such as:

  • Acquire a strong knowledge in product knowledge
  • Advance your professional development
  • Enhance your earning potential
  • Enhance productivity
  • Improve your credibility
  • It makes you a solutions-oriented professional

For Organizations

Organizations can also benefit from ITIL professionals, that include:

  • Integrating IT with businesses
  • Providing top-quality services to better meet the requirements of their customers 
  • Improve the quality of services to be delivered
  • Improve customer satisfaction
  • Optimizing budget, time, and other resources spent on the entire service development lifecycle
  • Uplifting morale of team members

ITIL 4 Certification Levels

There are four levels of ITIL certifications. As a beginner, you can pursue only entry-level or medium-level certification; but if you are a CIO or project manager you can acquire Master’s or Expert-level certification. 

Out of five levels, the first three are based on the number of credits and passing exams. 

The four levels of ITIL certifications are:

  • ITIL Foundation
  • ITIL Managing Professional
  • ITIL 4 Strategic Leader
  • ITIL Master 

The ITIL 4 Foundation Exam

This is an entry-level certification meant to validate your general awareness of ITIL concepts. It covers the key elements, terminology, and concepts used in the ITIL service lifecycle. Also, it comprises the links between stages in the lifecycle, the processes involved, and their contribution to practices of service management. 

You will get 60 minutes to solve 40 questions and the minimum score required to pass the exam is 65%. 

The steps required to get ITIL 4 Foundation certification are:

  • Take proper training. You can get online training courses from accredited institutes. 
  • On completion of training, take the test
  • Score a minimum of 65%
  • Earn 2 ITIL credits by completing the exam successfully

Top Tips for ITIL Certification Exam

  • Practice can make you perfect!

The more you practice, the stronger your concepts will become. You will get familiar with the pattern of the exam and sample papers will provide you with an idea of the type of questions and the way you can solve them within 60 minutes. 

  • Understand the study material well

Now, this is the most crucial step. As long as you understand the concepts of ITIL thoroughly, you will be able to solve any type of question easily. So, take enough time to understand the question, read between the lines, and then answer it.

  • Learn the modules of Lifecycle and Capability

Although this module is covered in depth in the intermediate levels, you still need to get into the basic concepts of lifecycle and capability modules. As the name itself says, it is all about foundational concepts of ITIL, so you should have at least basic knowledge of all these modules.

  • Remember the keywords

It is important to memorize the keywords including:

  • Service strategy
  • Service design
  • Service transition
  • Service level agreements
  • Operational level agreements

These keywords are often linked to other keywords and you will be able to answer the questions quickly on the basis of memorizing these linkages.

  • The right training will get you certified

If you get yourself into the right training course, you can get proper training based on your knowledge level. You will get through practice tests and real-life projects and eventually you will pass the certification exam in the first attempt itself.


The most important tip to crack the ITIL certification exam, as stated above, is to get yourself into the right training course. Their practice tests, rigorous training, real-life examples, industry experts as mentors will most likely make you pass the exam and get ITIL certified. 

Enroll Yourself Now!

Click here – What Types of Chairs You Need For Your Restaurant