Official Buying Guide for Astrological Gemstones!

Juliet D'cruz

Updated on:

The Vedas of Ancient India describe astrology to have a significant impact on the lives of human beings. The sheer placement of planets and stars in space at the time of one’s birth as well as throughout the person’s lifetime brings different kinds of energies and influences that affect the earthly lives of human beings. The wise and learned sages were successful in studying, mapping, theorizing, and identifying the various influences these planets and stars can have on our lives, using complex mathematical and scientific knowledge that is not easy to grasp for the common man. There are plenty of ways a person can manipulate the influences of these planets on one’s horoscope or birth chart. Deeds like charity, donations, etc., can help change the dynamics of these influences.

One of the most popular ways to benefit from these planetary influences is wearing precious and semi-precious gemstones. From the time of the Vedas to the time of Mughal kings, a multitude of believers put their utmost faith in the power of gemstones and embraced them not only as an aesthetic form of jewelry but also as sacred armors.

According to Vedic astrology, there are nine planets (Navagraha) in the solar system that can considerably influence one’s life. These planets are namely, Sun (Surya), Moon (Chandra), Mars (Mangal), Mercury (Budha), Jupiter (Brahaspati), Venus (Shukra), Saturn (Shani), Rahu (Shadow body associated with the ascending or north lunar node), and Ketu (Shadow body associated with the descending or south lunar node). 

Click here – Treatment Programs For Alcohol Or Drug Addiction

These nine planets are gracefully represented by nine astonishing colored gemstones that make a group called Navratna (nine gems) ( The planets and their affiliated gemstones are as follows: 

  1. Sun (Surya): Ruby (Manik) (
  2. Moon (Chandra): Pearl (Moti) (
  3. Mars (Mangal): Red Coral (Laal Munga) (
  4. Mercury (Budha): Emerald (Panna) (
  5. Jupiter (Brahaspati): Yellow Sapphire (Pukhraj) (
  6. Venus (Shukra): White Sapphire (Safed Pukhraj) (
  7. Saturn (Shani): Blue Sapphire (Neelam) (
  8. Rahu: Hessonite (Gomed) (
  9. Ketu: Cat’s Eye (Vaiduryam/Lahsuniya) (

These gemstones are known to enhance the benefits as well as diminish the negative effects of their affiliated planets, thereby improving the living conditions of the wearer. However, merely wearing them does not suffice. The process that goes behind these gemstones consists of metaphysical energies that operate under certain specific criteria only. First and foremost, the gemstone must touch the skin in order to bring forth its magic. Secondly, the gemstones must be energized via certain poojas (Vedic Pooja and Prana Pratishta Pooja) that help the gemstones get rid of impurities and negative energies. 

One should always consult an expert astrologer before buying/wearing an astrological gemstone. The astrologer suggests the correct gemstone, its carat weight, the correct time to wear it, and the mantras to chant while wearing them. If you are planning on wearing the gemstone in a form of jewelry (generally rings, pendants, or bracelets are suggested), one should get them made in the correct type of metal as well. Some metals do not go well with certain gemstones and if worn incorrectly, could lead to drastic scenarios. Apart from this, the carat weight of the gemstone must be in correspondence with the weight of the person wearing it (varies from 1/10th to 1/12th of the bodyweight of the wearer).

Nonetheless, there are certain physical factors that one needs to be aware of if considering to wear/purchase an astrological gemstone. As a rule, the gemstone must have a good color and clarity. This is something that one should definitely not compromise on. The gemstone should be natural and should not be chemically heated or treated, or artificially created. Therefore, it is always recommended to ask for lab certification when buying gemstones. These certifications are issued by esteemed labs that test, study, and certify these gemstones. These certificates also act as authenticity proof for the same. It is strongly recommended to purchase gemstones from certified vendors only like GemPundit.

Click here – Preserving Your Documents Using PDF/A With GoGoPDF